Top 5 Tuesday – Top 5 Tropes I Want More Of

   Hello, guys! I’m keeping with Top 5 Tuesday, which is hosted by Shanah on Bionic Bookworm. The topics for the month of October are up and can be seen here.

   I’m so excited for this topic! Tropes have a bad connotation, you automatically think of something boring and overused, but there are times that, although they really are used too much, I just looooove to read them, and they become the actual reason why I pick up a certain book. I’ll just talk a bit about each one of my favorite tropes and then I’ll give some recommendations.

  1. Forbidden Love

   I am a sucker for love stories that have some kind of huge obstacle that apparently can’t be beat. The reasoning for me isn’t even important, maybe one of them is already engaged, or they have very different social status, or they live very far appart…. I’m up for it. I’m not saying I support the situations in it (take Lolita for example), but I definitely enjoy reading them.

   Recommendations: 

  • The God of Small Things by Arundathi Roi
  • Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
  • Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
  • The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons
  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

   2. The Boarding School Setting

   I thing I can clearly trace the origins of this love of mine: Harry Potter. I love specially magic schools, but I’m up for anyhting, even in contemporary I almost can never resist if somebody tells me there’s a boarding school in it. This is also valid for Universitie’s campus.

   Recommendations:

  • Have I said “Harry Potter” yet?
  • The Name of The Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
  • Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
  • Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

   3. Twisty, Unexpected  Endings

   You know when a book seems done, ended, all good, and then something really fucked up happens? Something that you’ll never know the resolution of, that leaves it a bit open, and uncertain? Something Inception-y? Or when something just goes REALLY disasterously? I. LOVE. IT.

   Recommendations:

  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  • Life of Pi by Yann Martel
  • 1984 by George Orwell
  • The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

   4. Hate to Love Relationships

   This is one of my biggest guilty pleasures. I just can’t get enough of those really heated, fiery, anguished relationships, where people who hate each other for a really long time satrt seeing them with new eyes and fall in love. They don’t even need to hate each other, just the “I don’t really feel him”to “he’s my other half” is enough to make me happy.

    Also, hand in hand with this one (and a way of me cheating and creating a top 6 instead of a top 5) there are slow burning romances. Those that simmer slowly, that you can see turning into something more and not just appearing huge right away.

Reccomendations:

  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
  • I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella
  • These Broken Stars by Amir Kaufman and Meaghan Spooner

5. The Chosen One

   Let’s play the game “what made me like this trope”, shall we? The answer is always Harry Potter. I love profecies and special powers only one indiviual has, I love the very “classical” chosen one story line, and I also LOVE different plays on the chosen one trope, like when the author just twists everything and surprises you. Anything, just give me a special saviour.

   Recommendations:

  • Let’s skip Harry Potter in this one? Nope, Harry Potter.
  • The Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson
  • The Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo
  • The Black Jewels Series by Ann Bishop
  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

 

Please, if you have any reccomendaton of books that fit into these categories, just let me know, I want them!