Top 5 Tuesday – Top 5 Fantasy

   Hi,guys! I’m keeping with Top 5 Tuesday, which is hosted by Shanah on Bionic Bookworm. The topics for this month can be seen here.

   I love fantasy, specially in the fall, Iit’s the season when I most crave it. When I was younger, maybe around 13 and 14, it was all I read, I devoured series and series about dragons and fights and princesses, and I have so many books in this genre I like it’s been really hard to choose just five. And just so you know, I decided not to include Harry Potter here because it’s my favorite thing of all time, I  could include it in every T5T, but then I wouldn’t talk about some books I don’t usually talk about here in the blog, so… Let’s just assume Harry Potter is in the number 1 of all my T5T and move on.

  1. A Song of Ice and Fire Series by George R.R.Martin

   This is absolutely the most epic, convuluted, suprising frustrating and satisfying series that I’ve ever read. I’ve read it all in about 2011 or 2012, and it just evokes all the perfect memories of reading in my room during wintery nights, and thinking about it all the time. I was completely immersed in this fantastical world, and when the TV series came out I was that friend that would just focus on my friends that were watching it to see their reactions, an laugh at their misery when their favorite chracters died.

   George R.R. Martin is a mad man with an ax towards his characters, and I love it. I stopped watching the series when it caught up with the books, I haven’t seen the last two or three seasons, and of course I’ve been spoiled for some stuff, but I really really want to read it first. So I’m (not so patiently anymore) waiting for the next book.

Goodreads|Bookdepository 

   2. The Sevenwaters series by Juliet Marillier

   This series is seriously underrated in the web book community. Juliet Marillier is a master of words and stories, her books are really easy to get into, and to become trapped in her whimsical, amazing worlds. The Sevenwaters series is a multi-generational family saga that takes place in the old celtic times, with a lot of fantastical and fairy-tale elements woven into it. It was originally a trilogy that got expanded, focusing in one main character in each book, all related, and I couldn’t reccomend it enough. The second book ismyfavorite, but there isn’t a single mediocre book in the series, they’re all amazing.

Goodreads | Bookdepository

   3. Black Jewels Trilogy by Anne Bishop

   This one has a very special place in my heart, because it always reminds me of the time I read it. I was studying for some very important exams, very stressed, and this series made it all bearable, made me actually enjoy that beginning of summer. It’s a much darker, more sensual series than the Sevenwaters’, and it has an amazing magic system, based on jewels. I actually really need to re-read this one, because it is just great. Italso has a very dreamy, mysterious main guy, which was one of my first book boyfriends.

Goodreads| Bookdepository

   4. The Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson

   This one has A TON of hype,but it deserves it. It follows a crew of rebels that are trying to overthrown a dark ruler, and it is freaking fantastic. It’s very fast paced, but also political, and it has one of the coolest magic systems I’ve read so far. The first book was my favorite,I still remember how shocked I was by a specific plot twist, but it keeps getting more and more political, and it’s great. I definitely need to read more Brandon Sanderson, because this one was top notch.

Goodreads | Bookdepository

5. The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke

   This is another highly underhyped series. It’s a duology about a PIRATE GIRL (do I need to say more?), that is part of a curse that ties her life to an assassin. It’s very different from everything I’ve read. It’s a more “light” fantasy than the others here, easier to follow, with less sidestories into it, but highly enjoyable. I’ve read it not that long ago, maybe three years, and I really need to read it again, and immerse myself into this pirate world. The second book, specially, is very close to perfection.

Goodreads | Bookdepository

 

 

Published by

Bookworm Inês

Hi! I'm a medical doctor (this still sounds weird) and a proud Slytherin with a lifelong love for books and stories.

11 thoughts on “Top 5 Tuesday – Top 5 Fantasy”

  1. Fantastic choices! I am FINALLY going to be getting to Mistborn in October and I CAN’T WAIT! I’ve been wanting to read it for years but i’m terrified for some reason. I’ve heard great things about Anne Bishop as well – might need to add that one to my TBR 🙂

    Like

  2. The Black Jewel trilogy has been recommended countless times to me and I confess it’s become one of my daughter’s favorites!

    Like

  3. Yes! A Song of Ice & Fire is great and Martin does seem to love killing his darlings :,(
    I’ve got the first three books of Sevenwaters – really enjoy Marillier’s writing.
    Black Jewels by Anne Bishop is her best series IMO, I’ve read all of them (prequals and sequels.) Curious as to which of the guys was your first book boyfriend – D or L?

    Like

      1. I don’t either – found one now 🙂 I can understand why some choose not to read it though, as some of the scenes – argh! – but the main characters do make a great, if somewhat very dysfunctional, family and it’s their story that kept my interest.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I definitely need to re-read them, though, I think I would be more critical towards it now than I was when I was 15. But I firmly believe I’ll still love that “built family” feeling, and the magical atmosphere of the series.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment